Oct 1, 2014

*Blog Tour & Review* King Tomb by Scarlett Dawn

 
 
Queen Shifter, Lily Ruckler, has found solace in brutal warfare. Her bloodied fists and bared fangs fill the holes left in her memory, the blank spaces that leave her soul aching and empty. Her only pleasure is in blood; her only salvation is the relationship she has with her infant child, the baby of unknown origins who brings her solace and stability.

When Elder Harcourt summons Lily and her protector Antonio back to the United States, Lily thinks nothing unusual about the change of location. But a standard reconnaissance mission leaves her trapped inside King Zeller's private quarters, and at his mercy. Surprise attraction rapidly turns to a battle of wills and an intense power struggle that leaves no clear victor but plenty of resentment.

They are not allowed to nurse their wounds. In order to win the war against the Commoners, the King Vampire and Queen Shifter must work together. It should be easy. The war is turning, the battle is deadly, and both Lily and Ezra love the cold cleanliness of combat.

But their chance meeting has led to more than an unlikely alliance. Secrets have a way of surfacing, especially on a torn-up battlefield, and Lily and Ezra are about to re-learn all they cannot remember. If they can't control their emotions and responses, it will be to their own ruin and the destruction of everything around them.
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
I received a copy of this story for an honest review.

King Tomb by Scarlett Dawn is HANDS DOWN my favorite book that I have read this year. At the top of my Must Reads of 2014 list, the other ladies of The Reading Room Blog can attest to the “HOLY CRAP” message I sent them both when I got my Advanced Reader Copy. In turns heart racing and heart wrenching, King Tomb exceeded my every expectation and I loved every page.
King Tomb picks up several months after the King Cave, with Queen Shifter Lily Ruckler leading her troops in the Commoner/Mystical World War and dealing with the devastating effects of a mind wipe that stole all memories of the man she loved. The loss of those memories shapes Lily into a cold and ruthless leader whose only sliver of humanity lies in her infant daughter Isadora.

When Lily is forced to partner with King Vampire Ezra Zeller on the battlefront it’s loathing at first sight. Despite the urge to rip each other’s throats out, the two royals find themselves circling back to each other. As war rages around them, Lily and Ezra must face two of the toughest battles ever – the battle to save their people and the battle to regain their past.

What I Loved: Everything. The Forever Evermore series is one of my favorite series of all time and King Tomb is a perfect blend of paranormal action/suspense and New Adult romance/angst. I’ve been very privileged over the last year to have access to tons of great books created by some very talented authors. Getting the opportunity to read the Forever Evermore series by Scarlett Dawn has been a special highlight for me. Dawn writes The Forever Evermore series with such energy and intensity, I swear I can feel it crackling in my skin as I read. I was quickly consumed by each book of the series with their exciting plots and the power and appeal of the main characters. The banter between Lily and Ezra in King Tomb cuts like glass and flows like water, it’s amazingly natural and I felt like I was eavesdropping on personal conversations. King Tomb cemented Lily and Ezra are one of my top 5 book couples of all time. 

What I Didn’t Love:  Not a damn thing. Author Scarlett Dawn simply knocked it out of the park with King Tomb.

Favorite Quotes:

“I was cruel, I was heartless… I was a bitch. But not where my daughter was concerned.”

“His gaze was resolute and merciless. I was his. And he was mine. Whether we truly wanted it or not.”

“My heart broke time and again, then blistered with agonized adoration. It pumped deep within my soul. The blackness that had consumed me was flooded with nothing but pure, gut-wrenching love.”
 
Fans of King Hall and King Cave, King Tomb is the follow-up you were hoping for and then some. If you’re new to the Forever Evermore trilogy you’ll need to check out the first two books before jumping in, you won’t regret it.

Happy reading.

(PS - Did I mention I love these books?)

 


 

Scarlett Dawn is drawn to all things quirky and off-beat. She believes there are no boundaries for an imaginative soul. Her love of the written word started at an early age, when her grandmother would take her to bookstores every weekend. Dreams came alive within the books she found there, and now, she is thrilled to share her stories with others who have fallen under the spell of taking fantastical journeys. Scarlett resides in the Midwest with her husband, three children, and two dogs.

No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Imagination Designs
Blog design by Imagination Designs Images from the Time and Time Again kit by AnnaBV Designs