Dec 2, 2014

*Interview, Review & Giveaway* Owning Violet (Fowler Sisters #1) by Monica Murphy



New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.
 
I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.
 
Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.
 
One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.
 
My everything.
 
 
 
 
The Reading Room Blog was fortunate enough to get an opportunity to interview author Monica Murphy. Check it out:



Last book you loved and why?

Cora Carmack's ALL BROKE DOWN because SILAS. Oh, the hero was so sexy and
sweet. Adored him.

What inspired you to become a writer?

Sneak reading all of my mom's romances I found in the closet. I remember finishing
one in particular (I believe a Jude Deveraux book) and thinking, "I want to do this
someday." So incredibly lucky that I am!

What kind of environment do you write in? Do you need silence? Do you prefer to be around
other people?

I can write in silence or with the kids yelling and acting crazy and the television
blaring. Depends on my mood too. I have an office I prefer working in but I also
have a laptop in case I need to change it up.

Where do you draw inspiration from for your stories?

Everywhere! My own crazy head, magazines, television, something I saw on the
news. Inspiration is out there, constantly whispering at me.

How much time in a day do you spend focused on writing?

I try to put in a solid six to eight hours of work, sometimes more if I'm on deadline.
Lately I've been working on all sorts of stuff but no actual writing. Which reminds me
I need to get some words in...
 
Do you read your own reviews?

Oh absolutely. Both the good and the bad. Sometimes the bad ones sting, I'm not
going to lie but you know what? You can't appeal to everyone. We all have different
tastes and I respect that.

Can you tease your new Fowler Sisters Series in ten words or less?

Sisters meet men who'll change their lives - sexy times happen. <---- LOL
 
Now some just for fun questions! Introvert or extrovert?

Extrovert! I like people. I'm a talker.
 
Go to romantic movie?

Last movie I went to with my husband was Gone Girl. Not very romantic huh? Heh
heh.
 
Favorite band?

Don't have one.

Favorite song?

Currently loving Habits by Tove Lo. Catchy.

Favorite food?

Sushi!

Guilty pleasure?
 
Taking a long hot bath so I can relax and read.

Paperback or e-reader?

E-reader! I love my Kindle.

 
 

I’ve been a fan of Monica Murphy for some time and while Owning Violet has the quality story telling I'm used to getting from Murphy, I was shocked and pleased with how different it is from her previous books. Owning Violet has an unexpected edge to it that intensifies the heat sparked by its two stellar leads.

Violet Fowler has always been good - the good daughter, the good girlfriend, the good employee. But when her thoughtless boyfriend Zachary accepts a new position without consulting her and then cheats for the umpteenth time, Violet decides it might be time to be a little bad.

Ryder McKay has always been bad - growing up with nothing taught the Ryder to do whatever it takes to get ahead. And what he needs to get ahead is Zachary's job and he's more than willing to seduce Zachary's woman to get it.

When Violet and Ryder make the decision to use each other, a no strings fling quickly ignites into something neither is sure they want. When the time comes, will either be able to walk away unscathed?



What I Loved:  Owning Violet is an exciting and super easy read that kicks off a new series I’m already loving. Ryder and Violet make an electric pair and I love that their predator and prey relationship flows back and forth. Watching the two realize that they want more was satisfying and I loved their HEA.

What I Didn’t Love: Overall Owning Violet is a solid book. There is one subplot about a bad spot in
Violet’s past that I didn’t feel was fully incorporated into the story and I would have enjoyed a few more scenes with Violet and her sisters but those are just a minor issues.

Favorite Quotes:

“I have the distinct feeling that in the hands of the right man, Violet Fowler would be anything but
boring.”

“His kiss takes. Takes and takes, and I do nothing but give willingly.”

“Violet Fowler never does anything half-assed or cheap. That includes asking someone to indulge in a secret affair. "

“I would never, ever hurt her and she knows this, but I can’t deny I like it rough. I like seeing the flash of fear in her eyes just before the pleasure comes. I love hearing her sharp gasps and harsh cries. If this makes me a sick, twisted fuck, then she’s just as bad. And I love her that way. Need her that way.”

Owning Violet is the first book in the Fowler Sister Series and will be followed with Stealing Rose. Rose sparked as a secondary character so I can’t wait to see her in a lead role. I recommend checking out Owning Violet and getting to know the Fowler Sisters and their men.

Happy reading.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

14 comments:

  1. I haven't but this one sounds good. :) -Amber

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't read anything by her but this one sounds really good.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't ready anything yet...but this one sounds great! Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Loved Drew & Fable!! Thanks for this chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  5. None, But they are on my tbr.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Owning Violet will be my first Monica Murphy book to read.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't read any of her other works, but this book looks so good!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've read Drew & Fable and loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm a first time reader of her books

    ReplyDelete
  10. I haven't read any of her books yet.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I haven't read any of Monica Murphy's books...yet. Keyword, cause she IS in my TBR pile. This one looks like her best yet....fingers crossed

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs
Blog design by Imagination Designs Images from the Time and Time Again kit by AnnaBV Designs